World around me…

Posted: July 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

Hello again, so here are a few more thoughts…

You see, I have some issues and problems with my walk of faith in our world today. I know, we all do let’s be honest. But you see, I find that I feel in an unusual place. It could be that apparently here in the UK/Britain we seem so aware of ‘class’ -working class, lower class, middle class, upper class. The problem might barely exist over the States, or it could just be me with my own awreness of politics, media and culture.

But as a modern Christian under 40 years of age, I look to the scripture and I then look at the world around and it throws up many challenges and questions. I do question things, hey I’m that kind of spiritual guy-sorry!

I know about the Enlightenment, when the poor masses began to read and not just simply listen to the Bible dictated and tailored to them, telling them that they were born poor for a ‘reason’ or God intended that for them. I question just how of if many good working class people-young or old-would take the chance to wander into any kind of church today, feeling that they could possibly relate to the people in there or vice versa.

Yes, a church is a place to worship, but it is also a community place to meet and support others in life.

Another frustrating issue, which so many churches and Christians ignore regularly is modern culture.

Example-video games are the highest selling, most financially successful form of entertainment today-fact. Almost all young people play them, and people well into their 30’s and older.

In this country, the US, Europe and others, cultures are mixing and changing every day, all of the time and more than ever. We must learn and respect others.

I am not a youth pastor, missionary, pastor etc.- that is not my path but I do not intend to just simply moan and grumble here. I aim to just point out a few things, reflect and consider what I see and know of this world.

I wonder about how different people feel blessed or spiritual and why…

…I feel that many in Western churches are seemingly so happy and spiritual simply because they were born into comfortable families, wealth etc. Well, God really blessed them for a reason…or they just happened to be who they are and with their family and their nice town etc.

Would there be so many in that church, born into very poor families, with possibly no job or terrible job, no partner, bad family life-would they stay in their church and feel truly blessed?

These are just observations. Don’t get me wrong-I really wish many would go to church, forget crime, drugs, hate and find peace, love and faith.

 

Leave a Reply

